Press Releases


The APRM Forum 20th Summit Press Release

MAY 08, 2015 - Press release
APRM CommunicationPosted: MAY 08, 2015

In her remarks, the Chairperson of the APR Forum and President of Liberia H.E. Ellen Johnson Sirleaf emphasized the benefits of undertaking the APRM process for deepening democracy. She said the Peer Review process can bring to the fore problems that might have been neglected or overlooked and contributes to building national consensus and political trust. 

Major highlights of the meeting, included accession by the Republic of Equatorial Guinea into the APRM, Presentations of Progress Reports on the National Programmes of Action (NPoAs) by the Republic of South Africa and Mozambique. The appointments of three new APR Panel Members and the appointment of Ambassador Fatuma Ndangiza as the new Chair of the APR Panel of Eminent Persons as well as the appointment of Ambassador Ashraf Rashed as Vice-Chair of the Panel. 

Equatorial Guinea is the 34th Country to accede to the APRM. H.E Ellen Johnson Sirleaf called upon other APRM Member States to join her in welcoming and congratulating Equatorial Guinea for taking this commendable step of joining the APRM. She encouraged the remaining Member States of the African Union to join the APRM family. 
Ambassador Ndangiza succeeds the outgoing Chairperson of the APR Panel, Barrister Akere Tabeng Muna, who served as a Panel Member from 2003 to January 2014. 

She was first appointed as member of the APR Panel of Eminent Persons at the 16th Summit of the APR Forum in 2012. She is currently the Deputy CEO of the Rwanda Governance Board, whose mission is to promote good governance and decentralization in Rwanda. Prior to her assumption of these positions, she served as Rwandan Ambassador to Tanzania and was also accredited to Malawi, Zambia, Seychelles and Madagascar.

In this capacity, she oversaw regional integration matters concerning the East Africa Community and COMESA. Ambassador Ndangiza was the Executive Secretary of the National Unity and Reconciliation Commission in Rwanda from 2002 to 2009.

The New Chairperson of the APR Panel expressed her commitment to strengthen the Mechanism to greater heights. She said her tenure as the Chairperson of APRM starts at a time when the APRM celebrated its 10th Anniversary and when there is great interest in the replication of the successes of the Mechanism from other Continents. 
The new Vice-Chairperson of the APR Panel Ambassador Rashed was appointed to the APR Panel of Eminent Persons at the 16th Summit of the APR Forum held in Addis Ababa in January 2012. In the course of his long and distinguished career, Ambassador Rashed served as the Egyptian Assistant Foreign Minister for African Affairs, Assistant Foreign Minister for European Affairs and Arab Coordinator for Euro-Mediterranean Cooperation, Deputy Assistant Foreign Minister for Strategic and Security Organisations in Europe and Ambassador to Italy (2006-2011) and Ireland (1999-2003). He served as an International Consultant, World Food Programme Facilitator and Chairman for Consultations on Humanitarian Assistance and Risks in Somalia involving UN Agencies (2011).

The 20th Summit also bid farewell to Barrister Akere Tabeng Muna (Cameroon), Barrister Julienne Ondziel Gnelenga (Congo Brazaville) and Prof Amos Claudius Sawyer (Liberia) whose four-year tenure as Panel Members expires in January 2014.

The outgoing Panel Members will be replaced by H.E. Edem Kodjo (Togo), Professor Al-Amin Abu-Manga Mohammed (Sudan) and Mr. Mahamoud Youssouf Khayal (Chad). 
APR Forum Chair, H.E Johnson Sirleaf thanked the outgoing Panel Members for their commitment in serving the people of Africa. She also expressed her appreciation for the leadership and wisdom they brought to the entire African Peer Review Process during their tenure as the Panel Members. 

The African Peer Review Mechanism (APRM), an initiative of the African Union was established in March 2003 by the Heads of State and Government Implementation Committee (HSGIC) of the New Partnership for Africa’s Development (NEPAD). It is an instrument for monitoring performance in governance among member states. To date, thirty-four (34) Member States of the African Union have voluntarily acceded to the Mechanism. Seventeen (17) countries that have completed their self-assessment exercise have been peer-reviewed by the Forum of Heads of State and Government.

Press Release:
The APRM Forum 20th Summit Press Release

Progress Reports:
Mozambique APRM Progress Report - English Version
Mozambique APRM Progress Report - French Version
South Africa’s Progress Report - English Edition
South Africa’s Progress Report - French Edition

Leave your comment

Featured Press Releases

All featured news > >